Y Combinator alternatives: accelerators and pre-seed programs worth knowing.
Y Combinator alternatives come in four kinds: other accelerators, university programs, founder residencies and pre-seed funds that invest without a program. Here are 13 of them, with the terms each publishes, checked on its own site, and how to choose.
The main Y Combinator alternatives fall into four groups: other accelerators, such as Techstars, 500 Global, Alchemist and PearX; university programs, such as Berkeley SkyDeck and StartX; founder residencies, such as South Park Commons, Neo and Antler; and pre-seed funds that invest without a program, such as Afore Capital and Hustle Fund. They differ far more in money, equity and time than their reputations suggest.
For reference, Y Combinator's own standard deal is $500,000: $125,000 for 7% on a post-money SAFE, plus $375,000 on an uncapped SAFE with a most-favored-nation (MFN) provision. YC describes itself as a three-month program that it now runs four times a year.
Accelerator, incubator, residency or fund?
The words get used loosely, so it helps to pin them down before comparing anything:
- Accelerator: a fixed-length program for a cohort of companies, usually with an investment, mentoring and a demo day at the end.
- Incubator: longer, less structured support for earlier ideas, often with workspace and often tied to a university or corporation. Many do not invest.
- Residency or founder community: a program for people who may not have picked an idea yet, sometimes with funding attached.
- Pre-seed fund: an investor that writes first checks without running a program.
How the alternatives compare
Terms as each program published them on September 13, 2026. Programs change their terms; the official page is the final word.
| Program | Type | Published terms | Time and place |
|---|---|---|---|
| Techstars | Accelerator network | $220,000 at acceptance: $200,000 on an uncapped MFN SAFE plus $20,000 for 5% common | 3 months; city and industry programs |
| 500 Global | Accelerator | $150,000 for 6%, subject to terms and diligence | 4 months, in person in Silicon Valley |
| Alchemist | Accelerator (enterprise, B2B) | Required tuition fee, offset by an optional investment; average net proceeds $30,000, per the program | 6 months; remote-friendly |
| PearX | Accelerator run by a seed fund | $500K to $2M | 12 weeks |
| Berkeley SkyDeck | University accelerator | $200,000 from the Berkeley SkyDeck Fund | Cohorts every 6 months; Berkeley |
| StartX | University founder community | No equity and no fees | Stanford community |
| South Park Commons | Founder community and fund | Residency at no cost or equity; funding of $1M to $10M | Residency: 6 months |
| Neo Residency | Residency and fund | $750K uncapped SAFE for startups; $40K equity-free grant per student | 3 months in San Francisco |
| Antler (US) | Inception investor with a residency | Initial commitment typically $500K to $1M | Up to 3 months; New York, San Francisco, Austin |
| SOSV | Deep tech pre-seed investor | About 60 pre-seed investments a year of up to $550K, per SOSV | San Francisco, New York, Newark |
| Afore Capital | Pre-seed fund | $500K to $2M-plus | Founders-in-Residence program |
| Hustle Fund | Pre-seed fund | $150K | No program |
| Plug and Play | Corporate innovation platform | Not stated in the checked sources | Industry programs |
//Free program comparison sheet
Compare the program, not just the name.
Record current terms, eligibility, time commitment and official application links before deciding what to investigate.
Accelerators
Techstars
A global network of three-month accelerators, organized by city and by industry. Its current offer is $220,000 at acceptance, made up of $200,000 on an uncapped MFN SAFE and $20,000 for 5% common stock, according to its investment terms page.
500 Global
The firm that began as 500 Startups runs a four-month, in-person Flagship Accelerator in Silicon Valley and offers accepted companies $150,000 for a 6% stake, subject to terms and diligence. It also runs regional programs abroad.
Alchemist Accelerator
Built for technical founders selling to businesses. Classes run for six months and can be joined from anywhere, after an in-person kickoff week in the Bay Area. Unusually, the program charges a required tuition fee, which it offsets with an optional small investment; it reports average net proceeds of $30,000.
PearX
Pear VC's 12-week program for pre-seed companies, starting with a three-day retreat and ending with a demo day. Pear says it invests between $500K and $2M.
University programs
Berkeley SkyDeck
UC Berkeley's accelerator selects roughly 20 startups every six months, and each receives $200,000 from the Berkeley SkyDeck Fund. It is for startups with a Berkeley connection.
StartX
A founder community for Stanford students, faculty and alumni that takes no equity and charges no fees.
Residencies and founder communities
South Park Commons
Built for the stage before a founder has settled on an idea. Its six-month residency has no cost or equity, and separately it funds founders building venture-scale companies with $1M to $10M.
Neo Residency
A three-month program in San Francisco for up to 20 startups and student teams, with a two-week bootcamp. Startups receive $750K on an uncapped SAFE, with participation rights in the next round up to 5% ownership; students receive a $40K equity-free grant each.
Antler
An inception-stage investor whose US residency brings founders together in person for up to three months in New York, San Francisco and Austin, including people who have not found a co-founder yet. Its initial commitment is typically $500K to $1M.
Pre-seed investors without a classic accelerator
SOSV
A deep tech investor that says it makes about 60 pre-seed investments a year of up to $550K each, with founders working from its locations in San Francisco, New York and Newark.
Afore Capital
A pre-seed fund that publishes a range of $500K to $2M-plus for pre-traction companies, and runs a Founders-in-Residence program for people still testing an idea.
Hustle Fund
Writes a $150K first check into very early pre-seed software startups. There is no cohort program.
Plug and Play
A Sunnyvale-based platform that runs industry programs connecting startups with corporations. It does not state program terms on the pages we checked, so ask directly.
How to choose
- Compare the equity, not just the headline amount. The same check can buy very different ownership depending on the instrument.
- Count the time. Three months in person, six months remote and no program at all are different commitments.
- Check the fit rules. University programs serve their own communities; some programs focus on one sector.
- Talk to recent founders from the program, in your sector if you can.
- Read the current terms and dates on the official page before applying. No program here promises admission or funding.
Programs and marketing are separate decisions, and no amount of marketing buys a place in any of them. If marketing is on your list too, our page on marketing for technology companies explains how we work.
Frequently asked questions
What is a startup accelerator?
A startup accelerator is a fixed-length program for a cohort of early-stage companies, usually offering an investment, mentoring, a network and a demo day in exchange for equity. Y Combinator, Techstars and 500 Global are well-known examples.
What is the difference between a startup accelerator and an incubator?
An accelerator runs a fixed program for a cohort, usually with an investment and a demo day. An incubator offers longer, less structured support for earlier ideas, often with workspace and often through a university or corporation, and many do not invest.
What are the best alternatives to Y Combinator?
It depends on what you need. Other accelerators include Techstars, 500 Global, Alchemist and PearX; university programs include Berkeley SkyDeck and StartX; residencies include South Park Commons, Neo and Antler; and pre-seed funds such as Afore Capital and Hustle Fund invest without a program.
How do startup accelerators work?
Most accept a cohort of companies a few times a year, invest a set amount on standard terms, run a program of mentoring and workshops for a few months and end with a demo day for investors. Terms, length and format vary widely, so read each program's official page.
Sources
Checked September 13, 2026. Terms change. Each program's official page is the final word. This is information, not investment or fundraising advice.
- Y Combinator: The YC standard deal: YC's terms
- Y Combinator: What happens at YC: program length and how often it runs
- Techstars: Accelerator investment terms: Techstars' terms
- 500 Global: Flagship Accelerator: 500 Global's terms
- Alchemist Accelerator: Flagship program: Alchemist's format, fee and investment
- Pear VC: PearX: PearX length and investment
- Berkeley SkyDeck: SkyDeck selection and investment
- StartX: no equity, no fees
- South Park Commons: residency and funding
- Neo: Residency: Neo Residency terms
- Antler: US: residency and initial commitment
- SOSV: pre-seed investments and locations
- Afore Capital: published check size
- Hustle Fund: published check size
Bring the marketing question to our founders.
Tell us what the business needs marketing to accomplish. We will discuss the priorities and the work that would make sense to include.
Talk to our foundersRelated reading in Strategy

